There had been some confusion as to when we were going to be able to go home. Some chemo medicines require fluids be given after because they can damage the kidneys and they want them to be flushed out. Others require a catheter be placed while receiving chemo and sometimes is kept in a day or so after so that the baby doesn't develop a horrible diaper rash. We had been told that we were going to have to stay 48 hours after the chemo finished to keep a catheter in. Then another day I would be told that we would be able to leave the same day the chemo was finished. I finally told them that they needed to get their information straightened out and let me know what needed to happen one way or the other. I was prepared to stay if that was what needed to be done or I was fine with leaving if Ambrosia would be okay. The nurse practitioners looked at our past chemo stays to see what protocol was used before and determined that we would be able to go home when the chemo finished yesterday.

Around 5:50 pm yesterday, Ambrosia's pump for her feeds began to beep. The bag was empty. Her feeds were due to stop at 6 pm, so I went and grabbed a nurse and told her. She came to the room to record the amount Ambrosia had been fed and disconnect her from the pump. She then got some sterile water to flush into Ambrosia's NJ tube. In doing so, we came across an issue. Ambrosia's NJ tube, that we just had replaced on Valentine's Day, was clogged. Again. It was strange because the pump never indicated there was a clog. Those pumps are pretty picky and usually pick up on a clog right away. We tried the usual tricks. Tried flushing some Coke in the tube, tried aspirating any clog out, they also ordered their powder mix to try flushing in. Nothing worked. So around 8:30, they pulled her NJ tube out. Disconnected her from the IV and also pulled out her catheter. We were free to go!

I have to start giving her the neupogen shots tonight. Tomorrow morning I have to call the clinic for them to see Ambrosia and they also have to schedule for her NJ tube to be replaced again. I feel kind of awful that it's having to be replaced so soon after the other one. My phone will soon have a million alarms on it as I will have to set one every 4 hours to flush her new line with water as the fluoro team told me to do with the last one. That alarm will be one of many, as I have alarms for when I have to give all her medicine. If I didn't do that there is no way I would remember to do everything!



Leave a Reply.