*As I sat down to write this entry, I was overwhelmed with memories of Ambrosia. I looked down and saw that I had started leaking breast milk. My body still even has trouble remembering that she is gone. This triggered an overflow of emotions in me that I think I have been holding in and I had to step away for awhile before I could finish writing.*

Since I last wrote we were able to visit some of my husband's family in North Carolina for a few days. It was nice to get away right before he returned to work. While there Braeden got to visit with his cousin Allie who is not quite 2 years old. She was following him around and he was being so sweet with her. It was like getting a glimpse of what it would have been like if Ambrosia never had cancer. So of course I shed some tears.

The night we returned from North Carolina was also the night before Wes went back to work. Having him home with me for a month was such a blessing and a distraction, keeping ourselves busy with activities. The realization that he would return to work the next day hit me like a ton a bricks and I felt a panic attack coming on. I got through it and the next day before he left I again shed some tears. This was our new reality, me at home with one child instead of two.

Thursday last week was the first meeting of the Grief Connection that I attended with Braeden. It is held at our local Gilda's Club in conjunction with Hosparus. They serve dinner before you break into groups which will be helpful especially once school starts. Since it was our first time there, I went to a Newcomer's group where we filled out some paperwork about us and our loss and then we all shared about our particular loss. Braeden went down to his own group, where we were lucky that there was a pet therapy dog that night. He was pretty excited about the dog and I think it helped open him up. The next time we go I will be in the group with parents who have lost a child of any age.

Saturday was a fundraiser that was organized for Ambrosia before she passed. It was put together by some local gospel groups, one of which my dad sings in. We arrived an hour before the concert began to set up a slideshow of Ambrosia and set out some papers about our CureSearch Walk. People were already beginning to show up. Close to 300 people were in attendance. There was a silent auction and a bake sale along with a love offering taken. In all over $4600 was raised for our family to help with expenses we have accrued with Ambrosia's care. I want to thank everyone who was in attendance that night and gave money. We were truly overwhelmed by your generosity.

That same night, I met a woman who liked Ambrosia's Facebook page after Ambrosia passed. She had messaged me a couple of times asking what Ambrosia's favorite color was or if she had a favorite character. She later asked if she could join our CureSearch team to help raise money. I of course said she could. The night of the concert she came over and introduced herself. She then handed me a letter and asked me to read it. She had started making bows in honor of Ambrosia. Each bow had some purple in it as I had expressed that was my favorite color for her to wear. The bows also had a heart with angel wings attached directly in the center. She sold some bows to help raise money for the CureSearch walk. I was immediately moved by what she had done and was excited how much more could be done.

We have decided to make it so everyone who is interested can buy a bow and a portion of the money goes to the CureSearch Walk. The cost to make and send the bows is $5, we are asking that if you would like to purchase one that you send at least $6 so that $1 from each bow goes to our CureSearch Walk. You can add however much you would like to the cost of the bow and anything over $5 goes to the CureSearch Walk. The bows are triple layer bows and approximately 3 1/2 inches with an alligator clip attached. If you are interested in purchasing a bow for this great cause you can email [email protected]. Once we receive your email requesting a bow along with where you would like it to be mailed (U.S. only please), we will email you back with where to send a check and who to make it out to. When we receive your payment a bow will be mailed to you! I am excited and hope this will raise a lot of money for CureSearch! Here are some pictures of bows she has already sold:

Each bow will come with a message that tells a little about how these bows came to be and to help keep Ambrosia's light shining. Please consider buying a hair bow to help raise money for a good cause! We are hoping to raise as much money as we can for the CureSearch Walk that is on September 14th. After the walk, we hope to continue raising money in anticipation of next year's walk with these hair bows.

Once again, we thank you all for your support in every shape and form! No matter how big or small. All of you have impacted our lives in ways we cannot even begin to express. Thank you for helping to keep the memory of our daughter alive and allowing me to share her story.
Karen Holder
7/31/2013 03:22:29 am

Reply
Vivian P. Fox
7/31/2013 05:29:43 am

Bows-- such a great idea and we hope many will be bought!

Reply
Barb in AK
8/1/2013 03:16:32 pm

Sorry Anya. I couldn't get to the site. I will be sending the money to your mom for 2 bows and the extra for a donation toward your family's expenses.

Reply
Anya Hopper
8/1/2013 09:32:51 pm

It's an email address that you need to mail your information to for the bows. [email protected]

Reply
Barb in AK
8/2/2013 03:29:12 am

Thanks Anya. I'll try again.

Barb in AK
8/2/2013 03:34:53 am

Okay, Anya. I just figured out that I need to send an email. I thought I was going to a website. Sorry about that. I'm a bit s-l-o-w!

Sadie
8/12/2013 01:22:27 am

Good morning Anya, just wanted to send a little hello to you. We didn't make it to the event but I am so happy to hear that it was such a success!!! And thanks for passing along the bow information, I will be in touch. Want to let you know that you and your family are thought of often with many prayers and good wishes.

Take care!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.