Ambrosia's surgery went fine. She now has a more permanent line in for them to administer her chemo medicines and be able to draw blood from if needed as well. She has been smiling since the surgery and even laughing some. I've been able to nurse her so that is comforting for her when I'm sure there is some irritation and soreness from where they put the line in. 

Tomorrow, she will have a hearing test and a kidney function test before they start her chemotherapy in the afternoon. One of the medicines she will be on this time can have an affect on hearing so they are testing it before hand to get a baseline as to where she is now and will monitor it while the medicine is being administered. Because of this they are stopping her feeds and me nursing her at 4 am until after her hearing and kidney tests. They will start her chemotherapy in the afternoon tomorrow. 

The nurse tonight has been educating me on how to take care of her lines they put in while we are at home. This particular nurse we have had a lot at night and she is great. She always wants to make sure I understand exactly what she is doing and how we will be involved in taking care of her once we are home. 

I hope this visit in the hospital goes by fast so we can be home again for a full two weeks this time. Hopefully there will be no complications with this medicine. I will update as I can. 



Leave a Reply.