This morning started out normal. Braeden woke me up. I proceeded to get him breakfast while he sat down at my computer to watch movies. I laid back in bed perusing my phone while my husband continued to sleep. Soon my thoughts wandered where they always do. To Ambrosia. My memories vary from the good ones to the not so good ones. This morning my mind wandered to a not so good one and it was too much to handle. I broke into sobs. Silent ones at first as I didn't want to disturb my husband. But he soon realized I was crying and I let it all out. Braeden must have heard as he came into the room a short time later. He asked why I was crying and I told him I was missing sister and sometimes I needed to cry. Being the sweet boy that he is he gave me a hug and got in the bed to cuddle with us for a few minutes. Soon after I was okay again and we went about our day.

I still have a hard time recognizing when one of these episodes is going to hit. I don't know if it's because Easter is tomorrow or the fact that Ambrosia's birthday is only a couple of weeks away. All of these things also means that we are getting closer to it being one year since she passed. The other night Braeden said that sister had been gone a long time. So long in fact that he was sure she was 10 years old now. It's funny how time passes differently for a child than an adult. To me it doesn't seem like it's been that long. Only yesterday we were at Braeden's school for a Spring Fling gathering and I had set up a booth about the CureSearch Walk to get people interested in signing up a team to raise money. I also had a picture of Ambrosia from Christmas of 2012. One lady was reading the sign and asked me about her. I started to tell her it was a photo taken at Christmas while we were in the hospital. I struggled with the fact that it wasn't this past Christmas but 2 years ago and had to correct myself.

I worry about Braeden sometimes. On the outside it seems like he is fine. Doesn't seem to have any affects from losing his sister. He's never cried over it. He didn't cry the night she passed. He didn't cry at her visitation or her funeral. That's not to say he doesn't get sad about it because I know he does. Comments he's made have shown that. It may be his age is the reason why he hasn't cried. Or maybe he just doesn't need to. I just hope that down the road something doesn't pop up that triggers an emotional overflow or problems. If it does we will of course reach out to all the resources we can to help him. I am sure however this is just a concerned mommy talking and nothing more.

I have been trying to think of ways to honor Ambrosia and also raise money for the CureSearch Walk in conjunction with her birthday coming up. If anyone has any suggestions please pass them my way.

We are having a Fundraiser at Pinot's Palette here in Louisville on May 17th at 3:30. Participants MUST be 21 years of age. If you are interested please sign up at this link: https://www.pinotspalette.com/Louisville/Class/20415 25% of all sales will go toward the CureSearch Walk! This should be a fun time for everyone! If you've never done something like this before, now is the time! Come out and support a good cause. Here is the painting we will be doing that day:



Leave a Reply.