There will be no more pictures of Ambrosia. That is a hard fact to cope with sometimes. I won't get to take pictures of her growing into a beautiful little girl, her first day of kindergarten or any other milestones. I am a scrapbooker so I take a lot of pictures. Not all of the pictures I take get developed, but the majority do. There will be no more pictures developed of Ambrosia.

This picture is one of my favorites of Ambrosia:
This was taken during our hospital stay last December. We were in for an infection and at the time it looked more and more like we were going to be in the hospital at Christmas. I had a ton of holiday dresses I had bought that I was afraid she would never get to wear, so I brought them all to the hospital. Every day the doctor would come in and ask what dress she was wearing that day. She was so photogenic. It was easy to get her to smile for me to take a picture.

This picture was used for a fundraiser put on by a Major League Soccer team for the A Special Wish Foundation, who granted our wish. So Ambrosia is famous!

Here in Louisville for the past two days some local radio stations have been doing a radio-a-thon for Kosair Children's Hospital. They play stories from families and children who have been treated there. Last year I wanted to do it, but Ambrosia's diagnosis was so fresh and new. This year one of my friend's asked if I was going to participate. I wanted to, but wasn't sure if I would be able. I have always listened to other's stories and cried in the car. I wasn't sure I would be able to get through it. Maybe next year it will be a little easier to share Ambrosia's journey and bring some awareness along with raising money for a fantastic hospital.

Darissa D. McQuown
11/22/2013 10:34:21 am

I to love this picture!!! The fact that she is wearing A Lily Grace project bow makes me very proud!! I will never forget her she is a beautiful child!!

Reply
Staci
11/30/2013 12:07:35 pm

Beautiful picture!!! She has an amazing smile:) praying for you always, God bless!!!

Reply
Sadie
12/5/2013 12:06:58 am

That is a fantastic picture!!! Just want to say hello and you are in our prayers. I hope you are all settled back into your house. And I believe Ambroisia's story would be a blessing to share with others and hope that next year you are able to do so. Thinking of you and your family during the holidays!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.