We didn't return to the 7th floor yesterday even with her CT scan showing no changes. I got a little frustrated with the neuro team as they seemed to not be giving me all the information as to why we weren't going back upstairs. When I asked they told me it was because of her platelets, but the PICU nurse practioner told me that it was because her soft spot on her head was a raised bump instead of smooth like it should be. So they wanted to keep her in the PICU to observe her some more. It was upsetting for me but I have the best parents, who came down in the afternoon to give me a break. I was able to go Christmas shopping and then pick up Braeden from school before returning to the hospital.

After we got back to the hospital, the Super Sibs group that meets the last Wednesday of the month came to get Braeden so he could play games and do activities with them. The Super Sibs group is for siblings of children with chronic illnesses. They help include the siblings in activities and fun things to help cope with what is going on. We ended up getting him from the group a little early so we could go eat dinner at the Tumbleweed on the Waterfront here in Louisville. I hadn't been to that location before and we had a good time and the view was nice!

This morning they decided to do another CT scan. I heard from the PICU doctor that the neuro team was going to decide to send us back upstairs for sure after this scan. I just spoke with a nurse practioner from the neuro team, who I hadn't met yet, and he told me that they decided to send us back upstairs! This is welcome news as everything is so much easier up on 7West. They will still follow her for a few days and decide when they may do another CT scan to make sure the bleeding in front of her brain is still going down. But she is doing fine and doing all the things she should be doing so they are pleased and comfortable sending her back upstairs. He said he knew the PICU team didn't have a problem with it as they have been hounding the neuro team about when we can go back upstairs.

I don't know when we will go back upstairs today. They may have to move some patients around to accommodate us depending on how many there are up there right now. Hopefully it will be soon and before I leave to get Braeden from school!



Leave a Reply.