Today has been a pretty easy day. We've had no major issues. The resident surgeon came this morning and said they were stopping suction to her left chest tube and at noon they would do an x-ray to determine if it could be taken out. The oncologist came in and was a little concerned as her heart rate has been high and she fears that she may have an infection brewing. So as a precaution they took blood samples and started her on some antibiotics. She also got a blood transfusion. Her third since being in the hospital.

She has still been nursing fine with no major issues because of me nursing her. Thanks to the speech person who came and observed her nursing and determined it was fine to keep on doing it. She has thrown up a couple of times, but I think it has more to do with her medication causing nausea and all the other issues she already has going on in her belly.

She has played several times today and even smiled quite a bit. She gave her first smile to a nurse last night. I think her nurse was pretty excited about that. That was also the time she wanted to play and it was 4 am!

While I was away getting our son Braeden, the resident surgeon came back to take her chest tube out. He decided for some reason he wanted help with it and said he'd be back. We'll see if he does as he still isn't back yet!

I talked to the Child Psychologist today about my concerns for developmental delay. She said I shouldn't be worried as I am a good mom for even being concerned about that and it shows she will get the stimulation she needs while in the hospital. She talked about contacting physical therapy to see if they had a play mat they could bring in to the room for her to play on once her chest tube is out. That will be helpful for her development for sure.

For not a lot going on my entry is quite long! I"ll end it here with hopes tomorrow is an even better day. Thanks for all your well wishes and prayers and support. It means a lot to our family.




Leave a Reply.