This past Thursday we went to the clinic for them to take cultures from her lines to make sure she was still infection free. While we were there she also got the vincristine chemo medicine and we were told her next round of chemo would start on January 4th. We go back to the clinic on the 2nd for them to make sure her numbers are still good and we are ready for her 4th round of chemo.

I was a little surprised we would be able to go so long without returning for her next round. I wasn't expecting a whole week still before going back. We have been taking advantage of our time at home. Friday we went Bowling with our son (Ambrosia was there too, just no bowling for baby!) then we went to Toys R Us to hunt down a Ninja Turtle and found exactly one on the shelf. That was a good day. Then yesterday my parents came down and watched the kids so that Wes and I could go to a movie and then dinner by ourselves. That was some much needed time to ourselves and I'm grateful to my parents for coming down to babysit!

Tomorrow is New Years Eve and we will be heading to Frankfort to celebrate Christmas/New Years with my dad's side of the family. It's always a good time and I'm sure this time will be no different!

I called the hospital yesterday and talked to Dr. Cheerva about Ambrosia's continuous feeds. She gets feeds 24 hours a day through her NJ tube. A couple of times now I have gone in to check on her in her crib at night because her pump was beeping or she woke up. Her feeding line will be wrapped around her neck. She moves a lot in her sleep like her brother does. Her head can start at one end of the bed and end up at the other. I was a little concerned that one morning I might wake up to find that she had strangled herself in her sleep. Dr. Cheerva told me I could up her feeds a couple of mls per hour and take her off for four hours last night. Then today up her feeds 2 more mls and then tonight I could take her off for six hours. She said that was the best she could do until they can see her again. I will be sure to bring it up at her next clinic visit and admission to the hospital.

That is all the news I have for now. I hope the rest of this week goes as smooth as it did last week! It sure is nice to be home.



Leave a Reply.