Ambrosia ended up not having surgery today. They weren't going to be able to fit her in until 5 pm, so Dr. Lucas decided to have another peripheral IV put in but this time put it farther up her arm instead of in her hand. They made sure it had good blood return before starting chemo and once chemo was started the nurse checked it every so often to see if it had moved or was seeping out of her vein. There were no problems and Ambrosia was able to get her chemo.

Unfortunately it seems the IV had since moved and is no longer getting good blood return. This means tomorrow the IV team will have to come put another peripheral IV in on her other arm to be able to administer the chemo for tomorrow. Then on Monday she will receive the new experimental chemo which is an oral medication so there will be no issues giving that.

Then the plan is to still put in a port on Tuesday. I am dreading having a port a little as it is something new. I don't know any of the care that is involved with a port. All I know is I know when one is being accessed because the kids end up screaming. I don't know how Ambrosia will react to one but I hope she tolerates it well.



Leave a Reply.