We came to the hospital at 7:30 yesterday morning to start Ambrosia's 4th round of chemo. The night before the nurse practitioner from the hospital called me to let me know what time we needed to be here and told me Ambrosia would be having a CT scan of her head in the morning to make sure the bleed had continued to go down. They also needed her to be without fluids for what I now realize was sedation for the CT test. That led me to believe that it was already set at a scheduled time for shortly after we would arrive. That ended up not being the case. They always seem to have a hard time coordinating with the sedation team as we have run into this problem before. I also found out after arriving that she needed a GFR test of her kidneys to check and see how they were functioning in case they needed to adjust any of her chemo medicine. All of this needed to be done before they would start her chemo medicine.

At one point I overheard the sedation doctor talking to the nurse practitioner who said they couldn't work us in until 1 pm at the earliest. The nurse practioner popped her head in our room to tell me this and I inquired whether or not the tests could be done without sedation as they had been previously. She checked with the radiologists who agreed that we could do it without the sedation. Soon after we were able to get her CT scan done and then I was able to feed her so she could have the GFR test done. All tests completed we were ready to start chemo! Or so I thought.

Her chemo ended up not being started until sometime after I left to eat dinner with my parents, niece and nephew, Wes and Braeden. When we came back it had been started. Everything has been going fine so far. As long as everything goes as planned we should be in 5 days.

In other news, the nurse practioner with neurosurgery came by to say that Ambrosia no longer needed to be under their supervision. Her bleed in front of her brain had been clear enough that they don't need to see her anymore. So that is good news!
Jennifer Haber
1/7/2013 03:56:16 am

Praise the Lord that the bleed is resolved! I continue to pray for Ambrosia and the entire family.

Reply



Leave a Reply.