Things are starting to get back to normal around here. Wednesday we will finally be able to move back into our house. We have all been growing weary of this cramped hotel room that we've been living in for over a month now. We also have been missing our animals, as we have only seen them very briefly because they've had to be cared for by others because they couldn't be in the hotel with us. I'm very grateful to my aunt and uncle who took them in for us so we wouldn't have to keep paying for boarding.

Braeden has been voicing himself more about his sister. He sees commercials for toys that Ambrosia could be playing with now and says we could have got that for her if she hadn't died. We asked him if he would like to get some toys for another little girl Ambrosia's age to give away at Christmas. He said he would, so we are doing the Salvation Army Angel Tree to buy some things for a deserving little girl. We've also talked about getting an ornament for the tree that represents Ambrosia that we will let him pick out. The holidays are sure to be a rough time for all of us as we celebrate knowing our baby isn't with us.

The other day we went out as a family to a restaurant for dinner. Near the end of our meal a family was seated directly across from us. The first thing I noticed was there was a beautiful baby girl with them. She was adorable and I kept looking over at them. And then all of a sudden I just burst into tears. I had to cover my face as I sobbed. After a minute I was able to pull myself together. We continued with our meal and I pointed out the baby to Braeden. He said she looked like Ambrosia and I agreed. I wanted so badly to go over to them as we were leaving and talk to them. To tell them how beautiful their baby girl was and that I was sorry I couldn't help but keep looking their way. To tell them I had lost my precious baby and to hug and kiss theirs every day. I didn't of course but wish I had.

I am anxious to get back into the swing of advocating for childhood cancer research. Things have been kind of put on hold while we dealt with the flood and our house. I have felt out of the loop. I was finally able to sit and have a chat with the CureSearch person about next year's walk as I am on the committee as the Event Chair. If you happen to live in the Louisville area and would like to be on the committee please contact me by leaving a comment or sending a message on the Angels for Ambrosia Facebook page. There are a lot of different positions to be filled, so if you have experience with fundraising or have contacts that might be willing to sponsor the walk or even if you just feel called to help advocate for childhood cancer research, please consider joining the committee. The commitment is only a few hours out of your month and will be so rewarding!



Leave a Reply.