Ambrosia had her 2nd clinic visit today. They took blood from her like they normally would but took more than usual as the transplant coordinator needed it to start her work up for the stem cell harvest. With that in mind, we will be going to the hospital Friday morning for them to do another CBC (Complete Blood Count) to make sure her numbers are okay and she doesn't need another transfusion as her hemoglobin level has gone up some since Sunday but is still low. They also gave her a push of a chemo medicine through her central line while we were there in the office. I was unaware they were going to do this. We will be going back to the clinic next Tuesday and hopefully will know when the next CT scan will be by then.

Last night the home health nurse from Walgreens came to show me how to flush Ambrosia's central lines to keep the blood from clotting in them. She also showed me how to give Ambrosia her neupogen shot. I had major anxiety about giving her a shot before the nurse came. After practicing a couple of times on a fake circle of skin the nurse brought I felt comfortable doing it. The nurse held Ambrosia while I administered the shot. It was over pretty quickly and I got through it. We will see tonight how I do when it is just me and Wes to do it. The nurse also showed me how to immobilize Ambrosia's arms with a towel in case I ever have to administer the shot by myself.

The only problem we have had since being home is Ambrosia is starting to vomit again from the chemo medicine. I need to keep towels by my side to be able to clean up when she does it. I asked while we were at the clinic today if we could up the time of her anti-nausea medicine from 8 hours to 6 as that is what they had done in the hospital. I was given the okay to do that. Hopefully it will help and we will have no more issues.

In the midst of all this we were given the go ahead to enjoy Thanksgiving with my family. Both sides of my family are having Thanksgiving together this year. We are doing it at the church I grew up going to and Ambrosia and I are going to separate ourselves by being in a Sunday school room. This way we can help control the risk of infections. Everyone will have to wash their hands before entering and then using hand sanitizer as well. As long as Ambrosia continues to do well the next couple of days then it will be nice to see everyone. Especially those who haven't gotten to meet her yet.



Leave a Reply.