I know a lot of people are anxiously waiting to hear about our wish trip to the Louisville Zoo this past Friday. I promise I will be writing a detailed entry about our trip. I was actually waiting for our pictures to come from the photographer before writing the entry. Just know that we had a wonderful time and got to do some cool things! It was definitely something we won't forget.

After our trip to OMO last Thursday, I noticed Ambrosia was acting less and less like herself. She is barely smiling or reacting when someone does something to try and make her smile, which is not something that has ever been a problem in the past. She is playing some but minimally and again with no smiles or laughing. Kourageous Kids came out yesterday and we were officially admitted with them even though they had been out a couple of times prior. While they were here I remarked how much I had noticed a change in her. The nurse decided to come with me to OMO for our appointment today to ask some questions about her pain management.

When we got to OMO today the nurse from Kourageous Kids was there. She asked the OMO nurse if they could put a probe on to check Ambrosia's oxygen level. Her oxygen was lower than it has been recently so she was put on some oxygen. The Kourageous Kids nurse also talked a little to Dr. Cheerva about her pain medicine and it was decided to up her medicine to twice the amount of what she had been getting. Dr. Cheerva decided it would be a good idea to get a chest x-ray while we were there to get a better understanding as to what was going on. When she listened to Ambrosia's lungs she said she was hearing very little breath sounds coming from her left lung where the tumors are.

The child psychologist had also come to the appointment today and spent the entire time I was there with me. She walked with me to get Ambrosia's chest x-ray. Ambrosia's NJ tube had also gotten clogged yesterday so it was replaced right after the chest x-ray. After all that was done we walked back to OMO. Dr. Cheerva was there looking at the chest x-ray. She called me over to look at it. She explained how the tumors were much larger now. So much so that they have pushed Ambrosia's heart over from the middle of her chest towards the right side of her chest. She showed me a comparison from the last chest x-ray to this one and it was obvious as to how much the tumors have grown.

The child psychologist stayed out to talk to Dr. Cheerva while I went back into our room and waited. Shortly thereafter the child psychologist came back in the room. She told me that she asked Dr. Cheerva if she could possibly try and figure out how much time we have left with Ambrosia. A lot of tears were shed and we talked about a lot of hard things while we waited. Dr. Cheerva came in and said that while only God knows when Ambrosia will pass, she thinks we only have a week or two left before she passes.

She explained that what she had to tell me next was hard for her to say but she needed us to know that at this stage Ambrosia will be considered DNR or Do not resuscitate. She said that it was likely Ambrosia would encounter an infection if the tumors persist and collapses one of her lungs. It would be easy for an infection to present itself. She asked if we would be comfortable only treating the fever that would accompany the infection rather than treating it with antibiotics as doing so would only delay things by hours or a day. She explained they would do everything in their power to keep Ambrosia comfortable and keep her pain under control. We no longer have to go in to OMO for anything if we don't want to. No more labs need to be drawn. We stopped a lot of her medication except for pain medicine and nausea medicine. If I feel Ambrosia needs to be assessed I can call Kourageous Kids who will send their nurse out to look at her. The nurse will then talk to Dr. Cheerva and adjustments will be made if needed to keep her pain under control.

In addition to the pain medicine, Ambrosia now is on oxygen at home to help her breathing. We were brought a machine for home and also a portable tank to bring with us as we go places. This is a new adjustment for us and new equipment to learn about but it is definitely necessary in keeping Ambrosia comfortable.

All of this has been a lot to take in. We knew our time was limited but I do not think we were prepared for the news we heard today. My posts on here and on Facebook may become even more sparse than they have been lately as we spend as much time together as a family as we can. Please keep us in your thoughts and prayers. I also ask that unless you are an oncologist you do not suggest a miracle procedure that you know of that will save Ambrosia. Her doctors are remarkable and if there was a cure for her RARE (and I stress...RARE) cancer they would not hesitate to implement it. Thank you for your respect in this matter.
marykay
6/18/2013 01:31:19 pm

You all will be in my prays I love you all and my heart hurts for u guys.

Reply
Jana Henson
6/18/2013 02:09:52 pm

I pray that your remaining days with Ambrosia will include moments of joy, laughter, and freedom from pain. I so appreciate you sharing your journey with us, as painful as it has been for those of us who read it, but mostly for you and your family. You are an amazing young woman and a wonderful mother. Please "cocoon" with your family and continue to make the sweet memories that will help you through the coming months. Know that you are loved and cared for and that God is there in your grief, even when you can't feel it.

Reply
6/18/2013 02:44:06 pm

Anya I am so sorry for what you are having to go thru but you have been and continue to be a wonderful mother to both your children. I will keep you and your family in my prayers and I hope that whatever time you have left with Ambrosia will fill you with more memories of her to carry with you. You have been so good on posting your updates and we will all understand that you do this only when you can and do not expect it when you cannot. God Bless you and your family.

Reply
Kim Black
6/18/2013 03:39:05 pm

Anya, I can't imagine what you are feeling right now. Please know that I keep you all in my prayers and hope God gives you much peace and comfort in the days ahead.

Reply
Jenna
6/18/2013 04:08:33 pm

Anya, please know that the prayers of myself, my family, our church families, my colleagues and friends are with you at this time. I cannot imagine the situation and changes you and your family are facing at this time. You are each ever in our thoughts, prayers and hearts.

Reply
Chris Cunningham
6/18/2013 09:08:07 pm

Anya, Wes, Braden.....May God hold you in the palm of his hand. Bless you and sweet Ambrosia.

Reply
Rebecca
6/18/2013 09:57:43 pm

My heart breaks for your family. Time is precious. Your family is in my prayers.

Reply
Pamela Moore
6/18/2013 10:38:01 pm

Praying for a peace that passes all understanding as you and your family face the days ahead. Praying for comfort for sweet Ambrosia as she transitions to eternal healing. Although her time on this earth has been brief, God has and continues to use her to touch so many people through her courageous battle. May God bless and comfort you all.

Reply
Bev Heid
6/18/2013 10:56:44 pm

Anya so sorry to hear this latest news. I can not imagine how you feel! Hold and love Ambrosia as much as you can in the time you have left. We will continue to keep all of you in our prayers. May God keep his loving arms around you and give you comfort and strength ! My heart goes out to all of you. At least Ambrosia will finally be free of pain, and we are thankful for that!

Reply
Laura
6/18/2013 11:49:36 pm

Ambrosia remains in my thoughts and prayers. I pray for her comfort, and peace and strength for you and your family. I am so sorry you have to deal with this, but through it all you have been so brave and strong. God bless you all.

Reply
Becky Shipp
6/19/2013 12:13:47 am

May God embrace you all and may you feel the prayers of all who are walking beside you today. Lots of love.

Reply
Judy Stephenson
6/19/2013 01:49:35 am

My heart is breaking for you and your family. You are in my thoughts and prayers.

Reply
Sadie
6/19/2013 02:04:42 am

Dear Anya,
Please know that you aren’t alone. There are literally hundreds of people praying for beautiful sweet Ambrosia and her very special family. She has been blessed to have such amazing loving parents and a wonderful big brother with her during her journey. Thank you for allowing her to touch our hearts, know that ours all go out to each of you with love, respect and prayers.

Reply
6/25/2013 09:48:51 am

may she rest in peace

Reply
Glenda Smith
6/19/2013 02:17:43 am

I cannot imagine how you are feeling.My heart is breaking for all of you..God Bless all of you ..

Reply
Kerry Killingsworth
6/19/2013 03:11:47 am

My heart hurts for you. You must be so incredibly strong, how do you do it? You are to be commended.
Enjoy every last minute, and hang on to the good memories, may there be enough to last forever!
I try not to get angry with God when this happens to little ones, I am sure he has a reason, tho so hard to understand.
My prayers are with you and your family, stay strong, keep faithful. Ambrosia is so beautiful!

Reply
Lelia Todd
6/19/2013 03:20:28 am

My heart breaks for you and your family. I pray that God will wrap His arms around all of you during this difficult time.

Reply
Carmen
6/19/2013 09:00:02 am

Love and prayers for all of you. Ambrosia has touched many lives and will continue to do so.
I wish you Peace!

Reply
SUE
6/19/2013 09:17:53 am

I,m so glad the family had a great zoo day, but also my heart is heavy I am praying every day for your family..you all have been thur so much but it was nothing for the time you got to spend time with your beautiful baby girl. I hate that she had to go thur the sickness that she did but a parent would do anything to save their child.the only thing now is to put it in god,s hand,s .. love you guy,s will you give ambrosia a hug and a kiss for me.....thanks sue

Reply
Debbie and Steve
6/19/2013 09:43:54 am

Anya so very sorry your family is going thru this. She is a precious baby and we have been praying for your family and thinking of you. I pray God will give your family comfort and strength thru this difficult time.

Reply
Burnette Fegan
6/19/2013 12:20:17 pm

Anya, You don't know me, but my husband was pastor at St. Paul a number of years ago. I have been keeping up with your journey, and have been praying, and will continue to pray as you go through this incredibly trying time. Friends at our church are also praying.

Reply
Lisa
6/23/2013 10:43:22 pm

Dearest Braeden, Anya and Wes,

Know that during this loss of Ambrosia and in the months to come, we will keep you all in our thoughts and daily prayers. Take comfort in knowing that your baby girl is safe and completely healed as she lays in the arms of Jesus. May God bless each and every one of you with many wonderful memories of her sweet smile.

Reply



Leave a Reply.