Friday came and it was time for Ambrosia to get her stem cells 'transplanted' back to her. It turned out, after checking, that they would have to split the transplant into two different days as Ambrosia could only have so much of the preservative they put in the stem cells at once. It was pretty anti-climatic as far as the actual transplant goes. The stem cells were in a big syringe and they pushed them into her line very slowly. They checked her vital signs every 15 minutes the first hour and then even 30 minutes for the next hour. Everything went fine.

I had forgotten they had told me that there was a distinct smell associated with the transplant. As soon as I got near Ambrosia I could smell it. It definitely smelled like cream corn. My husband thought it smelled like I opened a can of tomato chunks. I actually could smell both smells. It was pretty strong and made me gag a few times. By the end of the night the smell had gone down a lot.

Saturday, the process was repeated. There was no major issues with anything. We had been giving Ambrosia some pain medication at night to help calm her down enough to sleep and she had slept better both Friday and Saturday night. Ambrosia has had to have a platelet and blood transfusion as her numbers have dropped. Unfortunately because her numbers have dropped she has started to be uncomfortable, and because she's a baby she can't tell us what is bothering her.

Today Ambrosia has been pretty inconsolable. They decided because they have been giving her pain medication often enough that they hooked her up to a continuous dose of pain medicine this evening. There is a button that I can push attached to the pump to administer more to her if I feel like she needs it. It also records how many times I push it to let them know if they need to up the continuous dose. Most of today has been spent holding Ambrosia. Whenever I've had to lay her down to take a break to use the bathroom she has screamed. She has slept most of today and only right now has she been calm enough to sit in the crib and play. She looks like she is about to go to sleep sitting up. Hopefully with the pain medicine pump, tomorrow will shape up to be a better day.

Kathy Lewis
3/31/2013 01:07:20 pm

so sorry today has been such a bad day. I know it is miserable for both of you. Hopefully tomorrow will be a better day. Prayers coming your way.

Reply
Sherry Kindall
3/31/2013 02:00:03 pm

Dear Hopper Family, I am so sorry it was a rough day for little Ambrosia. All are in my thoughts and prayers.

Reply
Kim Black
3/31/2013 11:59:47 pm

I'm so sorry she's had a hard time. And I know it must be really hard to see her so uncomfortable. Please know I'm keeping all of you in my prayers. Love to you all, Kim

Reply
Marcia
4/1/2013 01:07:56 am

I have been following this journey and wrapping y'all in prayer along the way. I hope this is the valley that will lead you to the joy of whole was and healing--ambrosia is truly a blessing from God

Reply



Leave a Reply.