Monday morning I called the clinic for them to get us in to check Ambrosia's numbers. We had to be there by 10:30 am. After we got there I found out we had to go over to Kosair and register to get her NJ tube replaced right after they checked her numbers. Her numbers on Monday were really high because of the neupogen shot I had given on Sunday night. They had me stop her neupogen shots until her counts get lower.

From her clinic appointment, we went straight to Kosair and registered for them to replace her NJ tube. While sitting in the X-ray waiting area, a mom and her teenage daughter sat down and commented on how cute Ambrosia was. They did eventually ask what was wrong and I explained she had cancer. They said they would be praying for her and that she looked like she was a fighter. I have to agree with them!

Soon the fluoro team called us back. Of course since they had just replaced her NJ tube they wanted to know what happened. I told them we just missed seeing them! They laughed at that. The doctor who puts the NJ tube in told me I should start putting some Coke in Ambrosia's line every other day just to help keep it clear of clogs. She said to let it sit in there for about 20 minutes and then flush it through. I have been doing that and hopefully this NJ tube will last for the rest of her treatment!

Tuesday, Ambrosia had an appointment with the audiologist to have her hearing tested. We have had this test twice before. It's something that is done after every 2 chemo treatments. One of the side effects of some of the chemo is hearing loss. Ambrosia wouldn't let the doctor do one of the tests. The doctor said she got a good idea of how Ambrosia hears with both ears, but the test Ambrosia wouldn't let her do would have let her know how each ear hears on it's own. We may have to try the one test again before our next round of chemo. If that's the case, Ambrosia may have to be sedated as you have to be still and quiet for it to be done! Not easy for a baby to do. The last two times she happened to fall asleep so that it didn't bother her. For now it seems Ambrosia's hearing is unaffected by the chemo.

Wednesday, we had another clinic appointment to check numbers and to get the vincristine chemo medicine. Dr. Raj saw us on Wednesday and said her numbers were still good. He said he would schedule us back in a week. Next week they will also schedule a CT scan to see how Ambrosia has responded to this new chemo protocol. As soon as I know that date I will be sure to post about it as we will need everyone's thoughts and prayers that we have good results!

I was a little concerned that we weren't going back to the clinic sooner than next week as I am used to going every couple of days for them to check her numbers. I had the front desk lady check again before we left to make sure that is what Dr. Raj wanted. She confirmed with him that was the case. So we went home and have been hoping nothing interrupts our nice break without doctor's appointments!

Thursday, one of the home health nurses came to the house to change the dressing on Ambrosia's broviac line. We were able to get that done with no incidents. Later that night I laid Ambrosia in her crib as she had fallen asleep. While I was attempting to get Braeden ready for bed, I heard Ambrosia crying. I went to get her and immediately realized that she had developed a nose bleed. It took a couple of minutes for it to stop but it finally did. I was able to get her to back to sleep for the night.

This morning, Ambrosia sneezed a couple of times and that triggered another nose bleed. I mulled over calling the clinic but finally did. I am afraid her numbers have dropped enough that she needs platelets at the very least. One of the nurses from the clinic called me back awhile later and said she would call for home health to come out and do a blood draw to check Ambrosia's numbers. I haven't heard from home health yet as to when they are going to come out today. Hopefully it will be soon, because if she needs platelets or blood I would like to get that taken care of as it is a lengthy process! Even better would be me worrying over nothing and she ending up not needing any transfusions!

Thank you for everyone's continued thoughts, prayers and support. Thank you also to those who have liked Ambrosia's Facebook page and shared it. We appreciate all of you!



Leave a Reply.