After being called in yesterday to go over Ambrosia's latest CT scan results, I knew the news wasn't going to be good. I just had a feeling. After we got to OMO and walked in, the first person I saw sitting out at a computer was the child psychologist. She is rarely over at OMO and somehow I knew she was there for us, which further indicated the news we were going to hear was not good.

Unfortunately the tumors have doubled in size since the last CT scan in April. This news was extremely hard to hear. They wanted to know our feelings on continuing with the IV chemo and the oral chemo and whether we thought it would be beneficial in any way. As of right now it is too early to tell how much time Ambrosia has left. When it gets closer to time, her body will give the doctors signs and they will be better able to estimate how much time we have left with her. Dr. Lucas also asked if we had given any thought to where we would like Ambrosia to be when she passed, whether at home or in the hospital. This is not something we have previously discussed.

They took some blood from her to check her CBC and numbers and we talked for awhile with the child psychologist. On Monday, they had put in a referral for Courageous Kids to get in contact with us. This is the children's division of Hosparus locally. They have not gotten in touch with us yet and I am to call the nurse practitioner if they have not done so by 2 pm today. They will provide 13 months of services to our family after Ambrosia passes. This is particularly important to me for Braeden to help him understand and cope with the loss of his sister.

Last night while getting Braeden ready for bed, I told him to go tell his daddy good night. Wes was holding Ambrosia and must have been visibly upset. Wes then told Braeden what was going on with his sister. He, of course, was upset and silently shedding tears. I asked him if he knew what heaven was and if sister became an angel what that meant. He said he knew it meant she died. We explained the doctors had been trying really hard to fix how sick she was but they were unable to do anymore. That is the hardest conversation I have ever had to have and no mother should have to explain to one of her children why their sibling won't be around for very much longer.

At this time we ask for your prayers and support as we have a lot of hard decisions to make regarding Ambrosia. I am particularly struggling today as I feel like I am getting sick on top of everything else going on. I also have a worry knot in my stomach that I am sure will not be going away for awhile.

Thank you to everyone for your support and prayers.
Michele Howard
6/6/2013 03:22:48 am

Anya, my heart aches for you & your entire family. I have kept a very positive outlook through this all. Something in my heart kept telling me she will be fine. I know ultimately she will be fine whether it be she is on Jesus' rocking chair or a miracle happens and she remains in your arms. My God bless you all Nd wrap his loving arms around you all. My prayers will never stop for you all. Sending my love and hugs to you all.

Reply
kayla
6/6/2013 03:42:52 am

Anya, I don't know if you remember me, however, I used to work at jcp with you..my prayers are with you and your family..I can't imagine what your going thru right now..I have a lil boy of my own and one on the way..I can't imagine doing that with my son..just remember that you have a whole network of supporters..

Reply
Karrie
6/6/2013 04:21:27 am

Anya,Wes and Braeden I am so sorry for this news you have received we have grown to love you all and especially ambrosia let me know if you need to talk ,cry or anything else praying for you all

Reply
Rise French
6/6/2013 04:26:32 am

I still believe in miracles. If Ambrosia goes home, her short little life will have saved many others with the research they have done for her. She has been such an inspiration to so many! Please know my prayers and the prayers of all that have heard, will not cease. God bless you all.

Reply
DeeCee Jones
6/6/2013 04:43:05 am

Your family is in my thoughts and prayers !

Reply
Sadie
6/6/2013 04:44:42 am

Sending love and prayers for you and your family Anya. I know my words can't heal, but I know my prayers will be heard and I know you and your family are not alone. Your amazing daughter Ambrosia and loving family have touched more lives than you will ever know. You are a true inspiration and you are all loved.

Reply
Chris Cunningham
6/6/2013 04:46:00 am

Anya,
So sorry what you and your family are going thru. Just have faith that The Lord will be there for you all and Ambrosia. Be thankful for being blessed with your beautiful daughter for however long you may have her. None of us are guaranteed tomorrow. It's all in God's plan and we have to trust him.

Reply
Susie Besten
6/6/2013 04:50:56 am

Anya,
My heart is aching for you and your family. Please know you are in my thoughts and prayers.

Reply
Jenna Bobbitt
6/6/2013 04:51:57 am

Anya,
You and your beautiful family remain in my prayers. I send you vast amounts of love and know that God will continue to hold each of you close as you continue on this difficult journey.

Reply
Mary Pattengill
6/6/2013 05:12:01 am

Anya,
I work with your mother and have been following Ambrosia's story through your blog. I am so, so sorry for what you and your family are going through. You've all been incredibly courageous in facing this battle. Ambrosia and Braeden are lucky to have you. Please know you all are in my thoughts and prayers. Mary Pattengill

Reply
Edmund Schluessel
6/6/2013 05:22:39 am

This isn't fair. You've all fought so hard at this. None of this should happen.

Reply
Shelley Ladd
6/6/2013 05:22:46 am

Anya, you and your family are in my thoughts. If you need anything please let me know.

Reply
Mindy Carter Furr
6/6/2013 05:40:38 am

Anya,
My heart is breaking for you all. I have been and will continue to pray for you all daily. I pray for comfort and strength during a time when I know those two things are hard to find. Much love to you guys!

Reply
diane
6/6/2013 05:50:32 am

I am so sorry. Please look up doctor joanna budwig. I hope maybe this information can help.

Reply
6/6/2013 06:03:58 am

Praying for You ,Wes and Braeden...and your beautiful sweet Ambrosia. No words can express how my for heart aches for you.

Reply
Bev Heid
6/6/2013 06:05:59 am

Reply
Willie Allen
6/6/2013 06:24:07 am

You and your family will be in my prayers and thoughts for strength and peace somehow, someway. May she laugh with you, and may you find a way to spend every moment of every day together with family.

Reply
Angela Morgan
6/6/2013 06:52:21 am

I am so, so sorry for the news you had received.Please know you all are always in my thoughts and have and continue to pray for all of you.

Reply
Jennifer Haber
6/6/2013 09:08:29 am

Hi Anya and Wes
I feel a bit awkward sending you this link, but thought it might be worth the read. This organization is where I buy my supplements. The link is for an article released today. PLEASE DO NOT POST THIS COMMENT. It is for your information only and do not think I am trying to persuade you to respond in any way. I weep when you weep and rejoice when you rejoice.

Thanks for making your lives transparent. I pray you will both feel GOD's presence every day in every circumstance as this journey continues.

All My love, Jennifer

http://www.lef.org/news/LefDailyNews.htm?NewsID=19456&Section=DISEASE&utm_source=DailyHealthBulletin&utm_medium=email&utm_term=Disease&utm_content=Body+ContinueReading&utm_campaign=DHB_130604

Reply
Debbi Dahlgren
6/6/2013 09:16:58 am

My heart is so heavy for you all. My prayers are with you, Wes, Braeden, and especially with Ambrosia. You are in my thoughts and prayers. May God continue to walk this path with all of you.

Reply
sue
6/6/2013 09:32:07 am

oh god, I had hoped and prayed that it would never come to this. my heart is sadden to hear the new,s, but will still pray that god will deliver another miracle for this sweet baby girl. she has fought so hard and I pray this is not the end for her. I love that little girl so much. it just give,s me cold chills to think about that. I have grown fond of the whole family such good people. god bless sue

Reply
Mischelle Presley
6/6/2013 09:42:25 am

I do not know you but I know the pain of losing a child in infancy. No parent should ever have to face this. I will keep your family in my prayers. Sending you a virtual hug (((HUG)))

Reply
gretchen jacob
6/6/2013 09:57:24 am

Dearest Anya,
My husband and I lost our youngest son 1 1/2 yrs ago. It was sudden cardiac death at 33....he left a wife and an 8 yr old son.

When I say I feel your pain....I can. However, I can not process the journey that you have been through with the initial shock of the tumor, times of disbelief, hope, despair, hope, cautious belief of a "new" miracle, dread of a new scan...on and on the cycle rolls.

I weep tears of "bitter heartache" for you and your family, there are also tears of "sweet" for Ambrosia. She will never know the heartache of growing up in such a fallen world.....she will move lovingly from one set of arms into the precious perfection of our LORD JESUS and HEAVENLY FATHER...WHERE SHE WILL KNOW ONLY WHOLENESS AND PEACE.

Our son's journey from birth to JESUS was a difficult one. I can find peace and joy, when I reflect that he is well and whole. True, it is amidst a flood of tears and longing.....but it prods me to cling all the more to the HOPE of being with him one day.

We will be praying for all of you to know the sustaining power of our LORD's SPIRIT as you scale the decisions these next several days.

graciously,
gretchen

Reply
Laura
6/6/2013 10:05:23 am

I'm so sorry....words cannot express the grief for you and your family...use this time you have left with her and take each day as a gift...I'm always around if you need me

Reply
Donna
6/6/2013 10:05:31 am

Anya and family, thank you so much for sharing your journey and especially that beautiful baby, Ambrosia. I have grown to love her and your son through your writings and am saddened by this latest news. God has given you all such strength this far and He will continue to be with you as continue down this difficult path. I continue to pray for all of you and especially your little children. May God protect you all!

Reply
Carol Wheeler (Kincaid)
6/6/2013 12:41:36 pm

Anya, my heart aches for you and your family. You are in my prayers.

Reply
Bobbi Hopper
6/6/2013 11:35:56 pm

You are exactly where God wants you rigYou are exactly where God wants you right, and sometimes we don't know why life seems so unfair, but everything really does happen for a rwason and God wants you to travel this journey. He is with you.... Stay strong, but don't forget to take care of yourself too!

Reply
Vivian Fox
6/7/2013 01:31:30 am

Just to say our love and prayers surround you, even though we have never met. The great grandparent (Otis's) are dear friends and our hearts are heavy as we have prayed much for precious little Ambrosia and all of you. May our Heavenly Father provide for each of you - what is needed each moment!

Reply
Melissa Russell
6/7/2013 04:53:53 am

Anya, I feel as though I know Wes, Braeden and Ambrosia through reading your posts for the past few months. You've allowed me to travel this journey with you, to pray and to cry alongside of you. This most recent news is devastating to me, and I can only imagine how you feel faced with the prospect of losing your precious baby girl. Your father said he is picturing her getting welcomed to Heaven by her great-grandfather, and I can just imagine the smile on Gene's face when he sees her! My prayers are with you for your continued strength and comfort, and may God hold little Ambrosia in the palm of His hand.

Reply
Carmen Thompson
6/7/2013 11:38:19 am

Anya and Family, thank you so much for keeping this blog and sharing your journey with all of us. Ambrosia has touched lives that uou will never know. I have had many students praying for her and all of you. God keep you in His comforting arms. Love and prayers to all

Reply
Patty Smith
6/9/2013 02:31:45 am

I have followed your family and keeping abreast of Ambrosia's treatments. Many prayers have been sent up from people in Tennesse that you don't even know personally. I am Heather Poulman Baker's mother in law. I love your precious child....I don't have to see her or touch her to love her. She has gone through a lot and no child should suffer like that. God loves her and in his time he will get one of the most special and perfect angels. I cannot imagine the burden you must feel and all the pain. God knows and wants to comfort you. We don't always know what plan God has for our lives or why he would need another angel, but He knows the timing will be perfect. Please know that I love your family and continue to pray for all. God Bless you in this crucial time of your family's life. Patty Smith

Reply
Tiffany
6/11/2013 10:58:08 am

I don't know u personally. However I from fb have heard your story. I just wanted u to know another stranger is praying for you & family in these trying times. May you make many memories & enjoy ur days though ur heart is heavy. God bless this family.

Reply
Kim Black
6/12/2013 04:12:13 am

Anya, please know I am keeping all of you in my prayers. I have Ambrosia's prayer blanket finished and will get it to your mom this weekend. Love to you all, Kim

Reply



Leave a Reply.