There is only 8 more days until the CureSearch Walk! To date we have raised $759 out of our goal of $1000. That is not including money that was raised from people buying the hairbows and the jewelry from the Etsy shop. I hope to have those added in soon! I would really love to meet our goal, but I think we've done pretty good considering we only found out about the walk in July. Next year I will be more prepared and hopefully have a lot of fundraiser activities.

I would like to thank, Christin Flygstad and Jenna Bobbitt both for coming up with the hairbows and jewelry fundraisers. It means a lot that people who had not met myself or Ambrosia previously care enough to help raise money for a good cause.

I have been asked by the organizer of the Louisville CureSearch Walk if I would talk about Ambrosia before the memorial part of the ceremony. I told her I thought I could if I wrote something out ahead of time and rehearsed it enough so that I wouldn't break down into tears.

This week I had also been thinking of trying to find out how to get a Childhood Cancer license plate for our state. They have one for breast cancer so I thought Childhood Cancer deserved one too. My hopes were that it could help generate some money for research. I started looking into it and with the help of a friend found out an organization had already started the process for getting one made earlier this year. In order for these license plates to be made, they need 900 people to commit to getting one by paying $25 out of the total cost to reserve one. Once they reach 900 people, the state will make the license plates and when they are ready you go and just pay the remainder of the fee for the special plate. A portion of the money from each plate will go to childhood cancer research and helping families with children who have cancer. Here is the organization's Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/CureKYKids.
Here is their website: http://curekykids.org/
And here is the license plate!:
If you live in Kentucky, I really hope you think about getting one of these license plates! Even if you send the $25 and never actually get a plate, helping to getting it made would be great!



Leave a Reply.