Yesterday afternoon we finally made it back to the oncology floor. They had put us back in a smaller room in the corner, but eventually we made it back last night to the room we were originally in the first time around. 

I asked about being able to nurse Ambrosia again and they decided to have the Speech people here do a swallow test with her to make sure she isn't aspirating while nursing. Unfortunately they came to do it while I was out getting Braeden from school and Ambrosia would not eat from a bottle for them. They are supposed to be coming sometime this morning to assess us while I feed her. I was able to feed her through the night last night which was a blessing in itself. I know she felt a lot better and so did I.

She seems to be settling down again as yesterday and the night before she was rather restless after they took her off her pain medication drip. She can still get pain medication as needed, it's just no longer a constant source. I think me being able to hold her and nurse her really helped to calm her down. She has been resting very well since early this morning.

I am hoping to ask about starting her on baby food when the doctors come in to see her today. She will be six months old on the 2nd and that's when I would have started her on baby food. Hopefully they will allow it and that will help her caloric intake even more.

The rest of this week will hopefully be smooth as next week we start another round of chemotherapy. Hoping she reacts well to this new set of medicine and that we aren't moved back downstairs to PICU.

That's all the news I have so far today. I'm hoping it's rather uneventful today!
Wes
10/31/2012 04:12:54 am

Lots of waiting, and hoping.

Reply
Janet T Walters
10/31/2012 08:31:26 am

That is all good news!

Reply
Peggy McClure
10/31/2012 10:33:28 am

Being able to hold her - good for her and good for you.

Reply
Heather Baker
11/1/2012 05:51:21 am

Great News! Hug that baby tight! Prayers are working!

Reply



Leave a Reply.